So things are finally back to normal this week. I have worked pretty regularly, but even regularly feels like not very much. Two solid hours a day is good. I’ve been dealing with sources for chapter 4 … they are a mess. I’ve read enough stuff and complied enough notes to write a section about Alaska Natives blocking the start of pipeline construction in 1970.

But I am not even sure what I will deal with next. I am backing off of the strategy I used on the last chapter (just trying to write everyday, without really worrying about the big picture) because, though it had the intended effect of generating enough material for a chapter, it was pretty incoherent int terms of an argument and clear chronology and context. So I’m trying to keep moving forward, but take a little more time to be strategic about what I write. These sources are such a mess though.

I think I can log a solid 4.5 to 5 hours tomorrow on my dissertation. I have leftovers for lunch. I don’t have anything until a 2pm meeting with my adviser. I don’t have to go to the grocery store. No yoga. The house is even clean and the laundry is caught up. In other words, conditions are as ideal as they can possibly get. So, tomorrow I want to (1) crank out a section that I have prepped to write this week, maybe about 1,000 words, and (2) finish reading and reverse outlining chapter 3 and making a new outline for revising it. It would be great to have these done to hand over to my adviser in the afternoon. But we will see.

I’ve been checking in over at slack during “live” work time.

